Skip to main content
OpenStays.AI

Property Passport

Ford Wetley Cottage

Leek, Staffordshire, United Kingdom.

About this information

Booking website
Website check pending
Information source
Property website
Property details
Not independently checked
First booking choice
Website

A checked booking link does not verify property ownership, prices or availability.

Important property information

Not specified

About this property

A secluded three-bedroom cottage you n the historic Quaker hamlet of Ford near Leek in the Staffordshire Peak District, with three ensuite bathrooms, woodland, streams and a stream view decking and wooden cabin. Sleeps seven adults plus one child; dogs by prior arrangement.

Ford Wetley Cottage is a self-catering cottage along a dead-end country lane in Ford, near Leek, in the Staffordshire Peak District. Trees, a lawned garden, woodland, fields and two streams form the setting. The three bedrooms each have an ensuite: a ground-floor king room with shower room, an upstairs double with a low child's pull-out single and bathroom, and an upstairs family room with a double and full-size single plus shower room. Great for seven adults and one child, with travel cots separately available. The farmhouse kitchen has a dining table and appliances for self-catering. Across the flagstone entrance hall, the lounge has oak beams, exposed stone, an oak floor, leather seating and a log-burning stove. Central heating, ordinary electricity, Wi-Fi, linen and towels are included; additional logs and EV charging are separate. Outside are garden seating, a swing chair, barbecue, fire pit and a large deck above the stream. The Hive is a garden living room with a speaker and lighting, providing another place to relax rather than another bedroom or separate rental. Guests can explore the woodland and field . A car is recommended for this rural setting, although walks lead from the cottage and local pubs can be reached across fields. The cottage won Gold in the 2026 Enjoy Staffordshire self-catering awards for ‘Best Self Catering Cottage’

  • One entire cottage: three bedrooms and three ensuite bathrooms.
  • Sleeps seven adults plus one child on a low pull-out single; two travel cots are available.
  • Garden, woodland, streams, deck and The Hive garden living room.
  • Log-burning stove and biomass-fed central heating and hot water.
  • Free fibre Wi-Fi; the supplied listing advertises 80 Mbps, not a measured guarantee.
  • Dogs by prior arrangement, with specific supervision, room-access and fee conditions.
  • Guest EV charging through a paid 7 kW Pod Point charger; bring a charging lead.
  • Walks from the cottage and a rural base for the Staffordshire Peak District.

Amenities

  • Free fibre broadband and Wi-Fi are described throughout the cottage and garden. One supplied listing advertises 80 Mbps; actual speed, coverage and uptime are not independently measured.
  • Lounge Smart TV/HDTV with satellite and Netflix/on-demand access described; subscriptions, guest accounts and particular channel packages are not specified. A DVD player and DVD library are listed.
  • Sony Juke Box hi-fi with CD, radio, smartphone docking and a hard disk described as holding more than 4,000 songs; auxiliary/phone streaming is also listed. Device compatibility is not specified.
  • Books, board games, DVDs, children's games and toys are described. A lounge-wall OS map and borrowable walking maps are supplied. Magazines are also listed in a supplied lounge description.
  • Log-burning stove with an initial basket of logs and kindling; matches are also expressly listed in the direct FAQ. Additional logs are available to purchase; the FAQ describes payment on departure. A supplied caption describes additional wood as felled/chopped by the hosts, not independently certified sustainable fuel.
  • Biomass wood-pellet central heating and hot water serve the main house and cottage. Guests have thermostat/radiator controls; underfloor heating is described for the downstairs bedroom/bathroom area. Carbon-neutral wording is a host claim, not certification. The host describes the wood pellets as Scottish-produced; no independent fuel-origin or emissions audit is supplied. A directory additionally describes natural light, well-insulated spaces and efficient systems. These are unmeasured source descriptions, not an EPC rating or independent energy-performance assessment.
  • The kitchen includes an electric cooker/hob and oven, a four-burner ceramic hob description, fridge/freezer, dishwasher, washing machine, microwave, toaster and kettle. A supplied listing identifies the cooker as Smeg. The Smeg cooker is described as stainless steel, and one listing explicitly labels in-unit washing-machine use free.
  • Kitchen equipment additionally listed includes a cafetiere/French press, coffee grinder, blender, dishes, cutlery, cooking utensils, wine glasses, baking sheet and barbecue utensils.
  • Children's dishes and utensils are listed. The dining table is described with six normal seats with two additional chairs or a high chair available; room around it should not be assumed spacious for every party.
  • Bed linen, hand and bath towels, tea towels, hangers, extra pillows and blankets are listed. Numerical mattress dimensions and cot age/weight limits are not supplied. Bed toppers are described on the beds; no particular mattress dimensions or independent comfort rating is established.
  • Two travel cots are described, with cot sheets and a high chair available on request. A bottom-of-stairs gate, fireplace guards, children's books, toys and games are listed; these do not establish complete childproofing or safety certification. The upstairs bedrooms are described as able to take cots; space in the ground-floor king room is described as tight, without measured clearances.
  • A welcome pack is advertised, with free-range eggs, milk, a bottle of juice, wine, jams and nibbles among the examples in the supplied first-party descriptions. These are described examples, not a guaranteed combined checklist; exact contents, quantities and dietary substitutions are not established. Initial kitchen staples are described as instant coffee, tea bags, cooking oil, sugar, salt and pepper. A supplied listing also describes seasonal Easter eggs for children and Christmas decorations, an arrival drink described as champagne in the supplied listing, and mince pies; these are festive-period descriptions, not unconditional year-round inclusions or a confirmed package for a booking. The exact festive drink and its availability for any particular stay are not confirmed.
  • Eco washing-up liquid, dishwasher tablets, washing powder, basic cleaning materials, toilet paper, kitchen roll and Molton Brown hand soap/moisturiser are described; replenishment quantities are not specified.
  • Hair dryer, iron and ironing board are listed. A drying rack/outside clothes line is described; a powered tumble dryer is explicitly not included.
  • Air conditioning is explicitly not included. Fans or individual cooling equipment beyond the stated garden-room fan heater are not established.
  • The Hive garden room has large double doors, custom seating, a Bose speaker, fan heater, ceiling/fairy lighting and table lamps. It is additional living space, not extra authorised sleeping capacity. Another supplied description calls the speaker a surround speaker, without a verified system specification.
  • Outdoor furniture includes a wooden table and chairs, sun parasol, picnic bench and swing seat. The deck is described with seating for eight, separate from indoor dining capacity.
  • A barbecue and fire pit are described by the garden seating, with a field campfire/fire-pit opportunity also mentioned. Fuel beyond the initial stove basket, use restrictions and current fire conditions are not fully specified. The captured Airbnb barbecue-utensils label expressly mentions fuel as well as utensils for grilling. Fuel type, quantity, replenishment and current arrangements are unspecified; this is separate from the starter basket for the indoor stove.
  • Secure bicycle/roof-box/equipment storage is offered in an outbuilding by prior arrangement; guests should advise in advance for a key. The booking terms place stored equipment at guests' risk.
  • Off-road/on-premises parking is listed as free for up to five cars. Bay markings, dimensions, covered parking and an independently measured accessible-parking specification are not supplied.
  • Pod Point guest EV charger is advertised at 7 kW. Charging is usage-billed through the app/account, not included in ordinary electricity; guests must bring their own lead and arrange account access beforehand. The access statement locates the charger at the building side. The captured charging instructions specifically require card payment through the app/account; this is not a general accommodation-payment method.
  • An outside tap is described for muddy dogs. Dog towels can be requested; dogs must not be washed in the bathrooms.
  • Source listings report smoke and carbon-monoxide alarms, with interconnected smoke detectors in bedrooms, hall and lounge, fire extinguishers in the kitchen/upstairs hall, a deadbolt and exterior lighting. Testing, servicing and independent compliance are not verified. The listing describes the alarms as working; this remains an untested source claim, not independent assurance.
  • Motion-sensor and separately switched outdoor lighting, solar-powered fairy lights and valley floodlighting are described. Wet decking can be slippery.
  • Barn-mounted solar panels and battery storage are specifically described as benefiting the main house and cottage-towel laundering. This is not a claim that all cottage or EV electricity is solar-powered.
  • Courtyard, garden, valley, stream/river, countryside and mountain/park-view labels occur in supplied listings; exact viewpoints, year-round visibility and a view from every room are not established. A source caption also names a view towards the Roaches, without identifying a particular bedroom viewpoint.
  • Free on-street parking is separately listed, in addition to the described off-road/on-premises parking. No reserved street-space entitlement, number of street spaces or guaranteed availability is established.

Spaces and layout

  • One entire three-bedroom cottage, with kitchen, lounge and three ensuite bathrooms. A supplied listing describes the building as a restored former dairy/barn; the primary accommodation remains one cottage. A private entrance is expressly listed; no shared-entrance arrangement is implied by that source claim.
  • Ground-floor king bedroom off the kitchen: access to both bed sides, bedside tables and lamps, wardrobe, drawers and chair. The newer cottage description includes a step down into this room; do not treat it as step-free. The access statement places the entrance switch on the right and describes a left-opening wardrobe.
  • Ground-floor ensuite shower room: sliding door, toilet, sink, towel rail and shower with a small entry lip/metal step. Heated tiled flooring is described. Source access information says there is insufficient wheelchair room and no handrails.
  • Upstairs double bedroom: double bed and low pull-out single intended for a child, with space for a travel cot. Ensuite bathroom has bath, shower over bath with fixed screen, toilet, sink and towel rail; the access statement describes laminate flooring. The access statement describes access to both sides of the double, bedside tables/lamps, a chair, fitted wardrobe and a left-side light switch; the wooden bed has no end board.
  • Upstairs family bedroom: double and full-size single, with space for a travel cot, bedside furniture, chair and fitted hanging wardrobe. Ensuite shower room has toilet, sink, towel rail and an entry step; the access statement describes laminate flooring. Its wooden beds are described without end boards, with bedside lamps/chair and a right-side light switch. A captured listing description also identifies a mirrored vanity in the family-room ensuite; its current fitting and condition have not been independently inspected.
  • Three main beds are double/king and one main bed is single; the additional low pull-out single is for a child. That is five sleeping surfaces including the child's pull-out, not eight adult beds. Cots are separate and sofas do not add authorised guest capacity. The primary description also states that the beds have toppers.
  • Bedrooms are described as carpeted in the newer cottage page; stairs are carpeted. The lounge has oak flooring, and the entrance hall has flagstones and a small floor lip. The access statement also describes no rugs, pale/bright walls and PVC window frames; this is descriptive, not a certified visual-access assessment. The upstairs hall is described with two chairs and a large ceramic plant pot, and releasable child catches on upstairs windows.
  • Farmhouse kitchen with oak beams, painted wooden cabinetry, granite worktop and a dining table. Detailed seating is six normal places with two extra chairs or a high chair possible; outdoor deck seating for eight is a separate setting.
  • Kitchen access details include floor-level washing machine/dishwasher/drop-down oven, fridge above freezer drawers, worktop microwave/toaster, corner cupboards requiring a reach, wall-height cups/glasses and a twist-turn mixer tap. The fridge door is described as left-hinged, with three freezer drawers below; the entrance light switch is on the right when entering from the hall. Cutlery is specifically described as kept in a pull-out drawer; reach dimensions are not supplied.
  • Lounge across the flagstone hall: exposed stone and beams, oak floor, two leather sofas, two armchairs, low coffee table, log stove, television, hi-fi and books/games. Some switches require reaching over a cupboard and a lamp has a floor-level button. A supplied decorative caption names a candle nook. This does not establish supplied candles, permission for flames or a fire-safety assessment.
  • The Hive is a deck-side garden room above the stream, introduced in 2024, with seating, speaker, fan heater and lighting. Children's informal camping suggestions do not establish another bedroom, separate bookable unit or higher occupancy.
  • Lawned garden, front/rear seating, deck, a described acre of woodland and access to a field with two brooks/waterfalls. A supplied listing separately describes a private two-acre field. These are unmeasured, area-specific source descriptions: the field and woodland may overlap, their areas must not be added, and a surveyed total holding or legal right of exclusivity is not established.
  • The garden is largely fenced and gated, but small dogs may find gaps. Uneven/boggy field ground, streams, livestock in nearby fields and wet/slippery decking require care; no childproof or escape-proof boundary is verified. The supplied listing describes the private field as hilly. There is an unverified warning of steep-valley access to the stream and difficulty for anyone unsteady on their feet; the current route, gradient and safeguards have not been independently assessed.
  • A gated, sloping loose-gravel drive leads from the tarmac dead-end lane, passing the main-house area and crossing a stream. Storage barns are opposite; private-use descriptions do not promise that no host or animal-care access ever occurs. A supplied listing specifically describes the cottage, garden and parking courtyard as for guests private use; this source-reported use scope does not establish legal title or exclude the described host/animal-care access.
  • The primary grounds description mentions den-making, a hidden Buddha feature and field campfire opportunities. These are descriptive outdoor features, not permission for unsupervised water access, vegetation cutting or unrestricted fires. The primary description also mentions wildflowers and says the two streams meet at the bottom of the field. No safe-water access assessment or additional land right is implied.

Location notes

  • Ford, near Leek in the Staffordshire Moorlands and southern Peak District. The primary host sources describe a location in the Peak District National Park; no independent boundary survey is claimed.
  • The cottage is along a quiet dead-end country lane outside the old Quaker hamlet of Ford. Primary directions describe roughly half a mile along the lane; use the supplied arrival directions rather than treating platform map pins as exact.
  • A car is strongly recommended for this rural setting. Train plus pre-booked taxi is described; Stoke-on-Trent is identified in the access statement as about 12 miles away, with other supplied listings mentioning Derby, Macclesfield and Buxton rail options. A supplied listing gives an approximate 30 to 40 minute journey estimate for the Derby or Stoke station options without specifying the transport mode; it is not a verified timetable, route or transfer promise.
  • Access information describes pre-bookable Moorlands Connect transport and a stop around 500 metres away across the bridge outside Ford Farm, with possible cottage collection subject to enquiry. Current timetables, collection and wheelchair/bike/dog carriage should not be assumed guaranteed. The older source describes seven-day service with weekday booking and possible wheelchair, bike and dog carriage, not verified current operating commitments.
  • Leek is described as the nearest main shopping town, around six miles away, with independent/antique shops, cafes, restaurants, supermarkets and fuel stations. Specific nearer small shops are mentioned, so no blanket distance to every shop is claimed. The access statement also lists a post office, banks/ATMs and some mobility-scooter hire in town; present availability is not independently confirmed.
  • A footpath network and circular walks lead from the cottage. Wear boots or wellies: fields, streamsides and routes can be wet, boggy and muddy. Access rights and accessibility are not certified for every surrounding field. The host offers suggestions for walks, not an included guided-walking service.
  • The Jervis Arms at Onecote is described as about a one-mile walk across fields, with a riverside garden; the route can be very muddy. Advance reservations are recommended for dining. A separate specific listing description estimates about 20 minutes across fields to a local gastro pub; this is not a timing promise for every route or guest.
  • The Cottage Kitchen Cafe and associated shop are described about 1.5 miles away on the main road, with breakfast, lunch and afternoon tea. Current opening and a safe walk are not guaranteed. A listing describes an uphill walk of about 30 minutes to the farm-shop cafe, not a level or guaranteed-duration route.
  • Other host dining recommendations include the Black Lion at Butterton (described around a five-minute drive, with a pool table and sometimes darts), Lazy Trout at Meerbrook, Wincle brewery tap and Royal Oak at Hurdlow on the Tissington Trail. Duncombe Arms at Ellastone is suggested for special occasions; Flintlock is described around 20 minutes away with tasting/wine menus and daytime set lunches. These are offsite recommendations, not included catering or current menu guarantees.
  • Leek food recommendations include Mehek, Angkor Wat, Napoli and Duck Goose. The host FAQ describes Mehek as about 1.5 miles away, offering eat-in or takeaway collection with no delivery; the distance measurement mode is not supplied. Angkor Wat delivery to the cottage remains unknown. Some Leek companies are described as offering limited takeaway delivery. Current trading, menus, discounts and opening times are not independently verified.
  • Daltons Dairy at Wootton is described with a 24/7 honesty shop selling ice cream/farm products and an April-to-autumn drinks/ice-cream Hatch. This is the supplied opening pattern, not independently confirmed current hours.
  • The host estimates Alton Towers at about a 15-minute drive and Peak Wildlife Park at about five minutes away. Admission is not included and these are source travel estimates, not guaranteed journey times. A supplied Airbnb description separately places Peak Wildlife Park about two miles away. That source distance is distinct from the selected host journey estimate; neither is independently measured or a current exhibit or admission guarantee.
  • Buxton, Bakewell, Chatsworth House, the Potteries, Churnet Valley Railway, Blaze Farm, Tissington Trail, Manifold Valley/Thors Cave, the Roaches, Dovedale/Ilam and Thorswood Nature Reserve are recommended excursions. Buxton and Blaze Farm are described around 30 minutes away, and Ilam/Dovedale around 20 minutes, without a guaranteed travel time. The host also suggests checking Buxton Opera House for a show; current programmes, tickets and admission are not included or verified.
  • Potteries recommendations include Emma Bridgewater, World Of Wedgewood, Middleport, museums, factory tours/painting and shops. Source historical stories and comparative claims are not independent verification of present operations.
  • Local optional activities described include reservoir kayak/canoe/SUP hire at Tittesworth, Rudyard Lake boat/rail/walking options, bike hire at Waterhouses/Parsley Hay, climbing/guiding, electric mountain-bike tours, Go Ape, Skeggox Forge experiences (ages 14 and older), Ashcroft Park, Madrenaline and Cloudside. Equipment, instruction and admissions are not part of cottage rental unless separately agreed. The forge is described about ten minutes away, Cloudside about 30 minutes away, and True North at Upper Hulme offers advance-booked mountain-bike courses with standard/electric bikes described as available. All are offsite, separately arranged options. Bouldering at the Roaches is specifically named in supplied text, without a route grade, safety assessment, access permission or included instruction.
  • Tennis courts, bicycles and water-sports equipment in marketplace amenity lists are qualified as local hire, not onsite courts or included watercraft. Golf, riding, caving, shopping and other generic nearby activities do not establish included services or legal access.
  • Optional treatments may be arranged at the cottage or a treatment centre described around ten minutes away. A local chef or private yoga can be enquired about. Provider credentials, price, lead time and current availability are not established by the supplied descriptions.
  • Seasonal wildlife or livestock may include birds, owls, buzzards, herons, foxes, badgers and ponies/sheep/cattle in nearby fields. Sightings, animal interaction, snow, aurora and balloon visits are not guaranteed activities. Winter sledging is suggested only when conditions allow; no equipment, suitable snow or safe route is guaranteed. Captured wildlife notes additionally mention May swallows, bats, spring lambs and a past goshawk observation, without promising sightings. Additional supplied descriptions mention squirrels, butterflies and woodpeckers; none is a guaranteed sighting.
  • Main roads to the hamlet are described as treated during winter, but this is not a guarantee that the cottage lane is gritted or passable in every condition. Cottage views and stream/waterfall flow vary with weather.
  • Airports and regional stations appear in supplied listing travel estimates; Manchester is recommended by one source. No airport transfer, exact nearest-airport determination or current timetable is included.
  • The host grounds description mentions sunrises, sunsets and dark night skies for looking at stars. Weather, visibility and sightings are not guaranteed, and no formal dark-sky designation is established.
  • A supplied listing estimates Buxton Station at about 29 minutes by car. This is distinct from the host description of Buxton town at about 30 minutes; neither is a guaranteed journey time or timetable.
  • Other captured transport estimates are Congleton Station about 32 minutes by car, Blythe Bridge Station about 33 minutes, Manchester Airport about 60 minutes and East Midlands Airport about 76 minutes. These are source estimates, not verified transfers, routes or timetables.
  • Captured offsite estimates include Trentham Gardens about 43 minutes by car/36.1 km and Chatsworth House about 52 minutes/52.3 km. Actual routes and conditions are not verified and tickets or transport are not included.
  • Additional captured dining estimates include The Cottage Kitchen around six minutes by car, Wetton Mill Tea Rooms around 14 minutes, and Fountain Inn, The Roebuck and The Three Horseshoes Inn around 12 minutes. These are destination-specific source estimates, not opening or journey guarantees. The same captured list estimates Mehek around five minutes by car; current operation and the route are not verified.
  • Further host recommendations describe Feasted chefs-table dining in the Spode Pottery works; Callow Hall at Ashbourne with conservatory dining and separately charged private rooms; Lunar at Barlaston; Pipistrelle at Grindon with weekend food/ice cream; Ramblers Retreat at Dimmingsdale with indoor/garden seating; and Hettys at Froghall on the Caldon Canal. Source opening/menu descriptions are not independently revalidated. A supplied listing describes Ramblers Retreat as dog-friendly; current entry rules and opening are not confirmed.
  • Leek is described with independent/antique/gift shops, cafes, Misco chocolate shop and supermarkets/fuel stations. The host guide mentions Wednesday/Saturday markets and a first-Sunday market; present schedules and individual openings are not independently checked.
  • The host guide describes offsite attractions including Peak Wildlife Park animal/keeper experiences requiring prebooking, Tittesworth visitor facilities/playgrounds/watersports, Rudyard Lake boats/cruises/miniature railway, Churnet Valley steam railway from Froghall towards Leek, Chatsworth gardens/house/farm park/playground and Blaze Farm ice cream/petting farm/trails. These are source descriptions, not included admissions, verified current animal displays or operating guarantees.
  • Walking suggestions include Thorpe Pasture for Dovedale/Thorpe Cloud views, the Manifold Valley trail from Waterhouses to Hulme End with cafe/pub and hillside steps to Thors Cave, and the Tissington Trail with hire at Parsley Hay. Host descriptions of quieter routes do not guarantee solitude, rights of access or step-free conditions.
  • Additional listed excursions include Castletown Caves, Mam Tor and Edale, and the source loosely groups Peak District excursions within about 30-40 minutes by car without assigning that estimate to every destination. A separate listing estimates the Potteries around 35 minutes by car and names the Potteries Museum collections as Staffordshire Hoard and Leek Frith jewellery; displays and operations are not currently verified.
  • An autumn orchard with apples and plums is described, with possible donkeys in surrounding fields and a captured past aurora sighting. Seasonal produce, animal presence and sky events are not guaranteed and no harvesting or animal-interaction right is established.
  • Captions mention nearby wild swimming and river paddling without identifying an assessed safe/permitted site or granting fishing/wildlife-catching rights. They do not establish an onsite pool or supervised activity. Nearby golf courses are described as within about 20 minutes, with travel mode unspecified.
  • Captured area recommendations also name Regent Theatre, Denstone Contemporary Art Gallery and Brough Park Leisure Centre. The Roaches description names Hen Cloud, Ramshaw Rocks and Winking Man and places the escarpment about four miles from Leek, not four miles from the cottage; that geography is source-described, not surveyed.
  • Captured nearby-activity labels include zoo, museums, theme/water parks, swimming, sailing, boating, paddle boating, kayaking, windsurfing, ice skating, hiking, cycling, mountain biking, rock/mountain climbing, rafting, horseback riding, caving, health/beauty spa, shopping/outlet shopping, antiquing, golf, ecotourism, wildlife viewing, birdwatching and fishing. These are regional labels only, not confirmed venues, included services or permissions to fish, ride or enter water at the cottage.
  • A supplied caption suggests taking ones own kayak to the River Trent at Stone, without establishing distance, launch rights or safety. Other captions mention canal walks/cycling towards a Black Lion pub and Wetton Mill facilities/cave exploration; no particular route or cave is independently assessed.
  • A captured Bakewell description mentions Monday market day and a monthly Saturday farmers market, without specifying the monthly Saturday date; current schedules are not verified. The same guide describes Waterhouses cycle hire/toilets at a car park off the Ashbourne-to-Leek road and literally labels that road A523. The supplied road token is not repaired or independently verified as arrival routing.
  • A supplied caption names climbing at Stanage. No distance from the cottage, route grade, guide, permission or included activity is established.
  • The host guide names Splash Landings with Alton Towers and describes penguins, lemurs, wallabies, meerkats and polar bears at Peak Wildlife Park, with prebooked keeper/feeding experiences. These are captured third-party descriptions, not verified current animal displays, included tickets or booked experiences.
  • The Leek guide names Sainsbury, Morrisons, Asda, Aldi and Lidl, with fuel-station labels Esso, Shell, Sainsbury and Morrisons. Its first-Sunday artisan market is called Totally Locally. Names and schedules are source descriptions, not verified present trading. The Jervis garden is described beside the River Hamps; Bakewell is described beside the River Wye.
  • More captured offsite details include Middleport museum/artisan craft rooms and Gladstone pottery visits; Trentham gardens/shops and Monkey village; Ashcroft Park paintball, laser, quad/driving and axe-throwing activities; Madrenaline sphere/Segway activities; and Cloudside instructor-supervised clay-pigeon tasters. Availability, suitability, safety and admissions are not independently verified or included.
  • The captured dining guide describes Mehek Bangladeshi cooking, a 20% collection discount and a Sunday 1.30pm-4.30pm set banquet; prices/current offers are not verified. It describes Angkor Wat as Cambodian and historically cash-on-collection with delivery unknown, Napoli as wood-fired pizza/homemade pasta, Wildhives at Callow Hall, Lunar beneath a large moon feature and Ramblers Retreat lemon-meringue pie. These are attributed offsite descriptions, not live offers or confirmed bookings.
  • Additional supplied offsite suggestions include art classes at Bullclough Art School and a visit to Derwent Dam. Distances, current opening, class availability, bookings and access conditions are not supplied; these are not included cottage activities. An April 2026 host article also suggests fairy sculptures by a local artist in ancient North Staffordshire woods with streams. It does not name the woods or artist, give a distance or establish access rights; the sculptures are not represented as cottage-ground features or an included outing.
  • A supplied listing separately names Derwent Water. Its distance and relationship to the cottage or to the separately named Derwent Dam are not established. No current venue, journey, included activity or water-access permission is implied.

Pricing and fees

  • The supplied direct-site material gives no general numerical nightly or weekly accommodation rate. Select stay dates and duration on the direct website for current pricing and availability; no date-specific payable quotation is verified here.
  • The direct website states a dog supplement of GBP30, reduced to GBP15 for weekends. The charging interval and exact application by dog count are not specified; do not assume a per-night basis.
  • Registered assistance dogs are stated to be accepted free of charge. The wording does not establish a legal registration requirement or unstated exceptions to other rules.
  • Optional local-provider hot-tub hire is described from around GBP250, with one supplied listing qualifying this as an approximate weekend price. Availability, duration, supplier, setup and final quote must be arranged separately; it is not a permanent or included amenity. One captured description specifies a tub freshly filled; that is a source description, not a confirmed supplier specification or booking. The supplied hire description specifically warns that short-notice arrangements are not always available.
  • Ordinary electricity, heating, Wi-Fi, linen and hand/bath/tea towels are described as included. EV charging is excluded from ordinary-electricity inclusion and is usage-billed through Pod Point.
  • An initial basket of logs/kindling is included; additional self-service logs are payable on departure. A numerical extra-log price is not supplied.
  • A 25% non-refundable deposit is stated to be payable at booking, with confirmation when it clears. The terms separately promise a full deposit return to an unsuccessful applicant when competing requests cover the same period.
  • The remaining balance is due eight weeks before the hire period. A booking made less than eight weeks before arrival requires the signed booking form and full rental payment.
  • No quantified damage/security deposit, fixed cleaning charge, direct-booking payment-method list, taxes or full mandatory fee schedule is supplied. Silence does not mean such charges are zero or that every extra is included. A captured marketplace instruction says dog extras can be paid in cash on arrival or added to the booking; that channel-scoped instruction does not establish the direct site payment methods or change the selected direct dog tariff. The captured Airbnb narrative expressly says no cleaning fee and asks guests to leave the cottage as found. That platform-specific statement does not establish a direct-booking cleaning-fee waiver or remove the separately described dog supplement and guest-care duties.
  • Occasional last-minute offers and an email signup are advertised, but no particular current discount, validity period or eligibility condition is supplied.
  • A supplied listing explicitly describes housekeeping as included. Its scope, frequency and hours are unknown; included does not imply daily visits. Optional chef, treatments, yoga, meal delivery or childcare recommendations do not establish included services or fixed prices.

Booking information

  • The supplied direct-booking website is https://www.fordwetleycottage.co.uk/. A booking enquiry can be used for dates, requirements or other questions.
  • Submitted source notes state a three-night minimum stay. Seasonal exceptions, changeover days and an absolute maximum stay are not supplied.
  • For more than seven nights, or available dates that cannot be selected in the calendar, the website directs guests to send a booking enquiry. Seven nights is not a maximum stay cap.
  • The website describes immediate acknowledgement emails after booking requests/enquiries and advises checking junk mail.
  • Stated hire period begins at 16:00 on arrival day, and the property must be vacated by 10:00 on departure day. Early arrival, late departure and luggage drop-off are not automatic entitlements. Luggage drop-off is listed as an available service by one supplied listing, without confirming arrangements for a particular arrival or departure. Vrbo displays conditional platform notices that extra-person charges may apply; government-issued identification and a credit/debit card or cash deposit may be required at check-in for incidentals; special requests depend on availability and may cost extra and are not guaranteed. It also lists cashless transactions as available. These are channel-specific conditional statements, not confirmed charges, a quantified deposit, universal identification requirements or direct-site payment terms.
  • Booking is described as acceptance of the property's terms. Confirmation follows deposit clearance, and the confirmed hirer is responsible for the agreed rental amount. Competing requests for the same period are described as first-come-first-served, with the specific unsuccessful-applicant deposit-return promise retained.
  • Dogs must be declared and arranged when booking. Equipment-storage keys and Pod Point account access should also be arranged before arrival.
  • For EV access, the source requests Pod Point account name/email and arrival date; the property adds account access and describes a confirmation email. Bring the charging cable. Domestic 13-amp/window-fed vehicle charging is prohibited. The source advises contacting the property if the account-access confirmation email has not arrived after about a day. The captured charging instructions specifically require card payment through the app/account; this is not a general accommodation-payment method.
  • Source directions are emailed before arrival and a lockbox/key-box arrival option is described, alongside a host welcome. Actual code delivery, final arrival arrangement and latest arrival time are not supplied. Guests may request that the wooden arrival gate be left open and parking next to the front door is described; neither request completion nor a verified accessible bay is implied. The hosts describe nearby availability after a welcome, not a staffed reception or continuous on-site support.
  • Supermarket deliveries should be scheduled after guests arrive: the property cannot guarantee someone can admit a driver beforehand.
  • Bicycle, roof-box and other equipment storage is by advance arrangement for a key and at guests' risk. No storage capacity or security certification is supplied.
  • Organic vegetable-box delivery on Fridays, local chef/tasting menu, private yoga and at-cottage treatments are described as optional enquiries. Provider identity, availability, price and inclusion should not be inferred from general service labels.
  • The refuse and recycling area is opposite the cottage by the wood store. The supplied access statement also permits refuse and recycling to be left inside the cottage; sorting and collection schedules are not supplied.
  • The access statement says lights and heating will be on for arrival, with motion-sensing lighting after dark. It also describes directions being emailed beforehand; no continuously staffed welcome or completed arrival is implied.

Property policies

  • Holiday occupation only. The supplied terms prohibit third-party bookings, including the described companies, organisations or other bodies booking/funding stays for others.
  • The direct terms prohibit the described organisational/unrelated-member or third-party-funded group bookings. This is not a blanket ban on ordinary friends or families.
  • No groups under 30 years of age is the selected source rule. Its exact application to mixed-age/family parties is not defined; it must not be rewritten as an adults-only property or a ban on every guest under 30. The supplied rental listing separately states a minimum renter age of 25, a lead-booker condition rather than the group-composition restriction. Children and family stays are not thereby prohibited.
  • Parties and events are not permitted. Visitor limits and any quiet-hour exceptions are not supplied.
  • The supplied house rules state quiet hours from midnight to 07:00. No extra guests may sleep on sofas, and booked party size may not be exceeded without express written permission.
  • Well-behaved dogs are accepted by prior arrangement. Supplied listings describe up to three; no acceptance of other pet species is established. Puppies under one year are not accepted. Dogs posing a bite risk are not suitable because a nearby footpath may be used by walkers.
  • Dogs must remain downstairs and out of all bedrooms, including the ground-floor bedroom, and off furniture. Use the stair gate; bring dog bedding and do not use the property's throws as dog bedding. Guests are also asked to bring their own protective furniture throws; that does not waive the off-furniture or bedroom rules.
  • Dogs must not be left alone inside the cottage at any time or left unattended elsewhere in the grounds.
  • Dogs must be kept on leads around farm animals and in farmers' fields. Off-lead exercise is described only for the designated private field, not neighbouring livestock fields, and fencing gaps remain possible.
  • Collect dog waste from lawns, garden and surrounding areas and use the general rubbish/outside bins. Request dog towels if needed; use the outside tap rather than washing dogs in bathrooms. The supplied departure instruction specifically asks dog owners to check both lawns for waste before leaving.
  • The terms specifically exclude American Pit Bull Terrier, Japanese Tosa, Fila Brasileiro and Dogo Argentino even if muzzled. This records the named property rule, not a verified or exhaustive statement of current law.
  • Smoking, vaping and e-cigarettes are prohibited inside the cottage. Smokers are directed to the garden away from the front door and must clear cigarette ends; do not infer permission to vape indoors.
  • Keep indoor chairs and cushions indoors; request extra outdoor chairs rather than moving kitchen furniture outside. Only toilet paper may be flushed.
  • Guests should leave equipment/furnishings clean, wash dishes, return the cottage tidy and lock up at departure. The source does not specify a fixed cleaning or damages tariff.
  • The supplied terms assign responsibility for damage and breakages to the hirer and literally state that their cost shall be "refundable on demand", with very small breakages normally not charged. That unusual wording is preserved without silently changing it to repayable. No quantified damage/security deposit or detailed claims procedure is supplied, and legal enforceability is not assessed.
  • The terms reserve refusal/cancellation for excess party size or the described unsuitable/prohibited bookings, and state no refund for cancellation caused by a breach of the terms. Legal enforceability is not assessed.
  • Failure to pay the balance eight weeks before the hire period may result in cancellation/re-letting and retention of the deposit under the terms. No complete voluntary-cancellation refund timetable or re-letting-credit formula is supplied.
  • The terms assign responsibility for the total agreed rental after confirmation. They disclaim owner responsibility when sickness, adverse weather or any other cause prevents guests starting or completing a booking, and advise holiday/pluvius insurance; that is advice, not included cover or a mandatory purchase. Their force-majeure clause disclaims responsibility or compensation when contract performance is prevented or affected by events beyond their control that could not be foreseen or avoided even with due care. The examples include property destruction or damage through fire, flood, explosion, storm or other weather, break-in, criminal damage or similar events that cannot reasonably be remedied to a satisfactory condition before the holiday starts. These are the supplied contractual claims, not evidence such events occurred or a conclusion about legal enforceability.
  • The terms state guest risk for accommodation/amenities, vehicles and stored equipment. These are recorded contractual assertions, not a conclusion that statutory duties or all liability can legally be excluded.
  • An exterior drive-facing camera is disclosed in a supplied listing with an empty-cottage security purpose. Its exact activation, operation during stays, audio/recording, view and retention are not supplied; do not assume it is absent or always off during guest stays.
  • One dog and two cats are described at the hosts' separate home, not as resident inside the guest cottage. Their presence, movement or interaction with guests is not guaranteed.
  • The property's privacy statement describes booking/stay communication and possible collection of names, optional email addresses and passport numbers where required for people aged 16 and over. It does not establish a universal passport-copy requirement or a minimum guest age.
  • That privacy statement describes 12-month guest-information retention with a legal longer-retention exception, no sale/rental/sharing apart from legal obligations, and access/correction/deletion requests through direct contact. Actual security, lawful bases, deletion and the retention start point are not verified.
  • The offers signup describes a privacy-policy checkbox; older email-submission marketing wording does not establish anyone's actual consent. The privacy statement also says marketing recipients may opt out at any time using unsubscribe instructions included in each email; operation of that process and any particular consent are not verified.

Suitability and accessibility

  • Advertised capacity is seven adults plus one child on a low pull-out single, not eight adult beds; two travel cots are separately described. Sofa sleeping does not add capacity.
  • Families, multigenerational groups and couples are described, subject to actual group-age, events and other booking rules. A supplied listing permits child guests aged 0-17; this is not a size or age-suitability certification for the pull-out bed or other equipment.
  • The newer cottage page describes a small entrance step and a step down into the ground-floor bedroom. There are upstairs bedrooms and carpeted stairs; the cottage is not represented as wholly single-level or step-free. The access material describes no entrance handrail; no current independent access inspection is established.
  • The drive is sloping loose gravel. Source access information describes narrow halls, limited kitchen manoeuvring space and insufficient wheelchair space in the downstairs bedroom/bathroom. Door widths, step heights and turning circles are not supplied.
  • Downstairs shower has an entry lip/step and no handrails are described there. The garden deck/cabin also involve steps and heavy doors/furniture. A ground-floor king bedroom is not an accessible wet-room or wheelchair-access guarantee.
  • Wet kitchen tiles/decking may be slippery; floor lips, reaching into cupboards, wall-height storage, low oven/laundry appliances and awkward lamp/switch reaches are described.
  • Fields may be uneven or boggy and contain streams, waterfalls, livestock or nearby footpaths. Garden fencing has possible small-dog gaps. Children and dogs require appropriate supervision; no water, fire or absolute child-safety guarantee is supplied. An unverified access warning describes steep-valley access to the stream and difficulty for anyone unsteady on their feet. This is not a measured or current access inspection.
  • A bottom stair gate, upstairs window catches and fireplace guards are listed, but no whole-property childproofing or independent safety certification is established.
  • Mobile reception can be limited or absent; compatible phones may use Wi-Fi calling. No emergency-call coverage or remote-working bandwidth guarantee is supplied.
  • Quiet/secluded marketing does not mean no neighbouring main house, people, animal-care visits or public walkers. Historic guest opinions are not a guarantee of total privacy, room spaciousness or continuously resident hosts. A supplied listing lists English and Italian as host languages, without guaranteeing a particular person or language-support availability.
  • A car is recommended. Pub/field walks can be muddy and winter lane access is not guaranteed.
  • The supplied listing emergency information identifies the front door as the exit and Ford Wetley House as the meeting point. It says to alert the owner in the house or move into the field beyond the lane to call 999 and the owner where mobile signal permits. This is the retained property procedure, not a tested signal guarantee or independently verified emergency plan.

Capacity

Accommodations
1
Max guests
8
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
3
Total beds
5

Direct booking contacts

Verification confirms control or reachability only. It does not verify property ownership, prices or booking reliability.

Where else this property appears

Optional links supplied by the property owner. They are not used as the source for this Passport's facts.

Safety note

OpenStays.AI does not process bookings or payments. This Property Passport is not an inspection, ownership verification, safety certification or booking guarantee. Independently confirm the property and payment recipient before sending money.

Chat to us on WhatsApp